The Inspiring Spaces of Pick Up Sticks – Bunny’s House

1-1-DSCN0445

My charming little house on a side street near downtown Santa Fe

For those of you who don’t know me, I’m Bunny Terry, the Pick Up Sticks blogger, copywriter, editorial submissions queen, etc.  If someone at Pick Up Sticks needs a piece of content created, they call me.

My front door, supposedly put there in 1928

My front door, supposedly installed in 1928

Remember those previous posts about the Inspiring Spaces of Pick Up Sticks?  Sabrina’s funky, eclectic home filled with light?  Glena’s colorful, comfy, gorgeous space?  Candace’s warm and inviting home she shares with her hubby and adorable Jemma the toddler?  I had fun writing those posts, and was just a bit envious (as we all are when we see someone else’s fabulous home).

My work space, with doors that open to the back patio

My work space, with doors that open to the back patio

Then I looked around.  And I realized that my own space was pretty inspiring, especially given my sometimes scattered, hard-to-pin-down style based almost entirely on whatever strikes my fancy at the moment I see it.

Entryway/Library.  Check out the oversized Mexican chess set.  Made of papier mache, picked up at a little junk store in Texas for $25!

Entryway/Library. Check out the oversized Mexican chess set. Made of papier mache, picked up at a little junk store in Texas for $25.

I didn’t plan to make it creative space.  I recently moved to Santa Fe into a nearly 100-year old adobe home and furnished it with my collection of Mexican folk art and eclectic furnishings.

Kitchen/dining room

Kitchen/dining room

There’s an odd mix of memorabilia here in my home – a Tom’s candy cabinet from my childhood, a collection of aluminum cups and pitchers from my 20’s, a full set of Frankoma dishware I snuck out of an estate sale in Albuquerque for almost nothing, brightly painted furniture (some by me, some by a Santa Fe local with a crazy paintbrush), interesting artwork that probably wouldn’t please anyone else besides me. . .

1-1-DSCN0385

In my prior home in Logan, New Mexico (the hometown I share with Glena and Sabrina), I had a very efficient little office with lots of shelves and a view of Ute Lake.  But it wasn’t necessarily inspiring (unless you count wanting to leave my desk and walk down to the lake as a form of inspiration rather than distraction).  It was utilitarian.  And I wrote there, creating blog posts and web copy and a few editorial submissions.

Of all the tings I own, my "No Sniveling" sign may be my favorite

Of all the things I own, my “No Sniveling” sign may be my favorite

But Santa Fe is different.  I’ve made this space my own.  I love my little house with its wide portal and picket fence.

Back patio

Back patio

I love the back patio with its flagstone and coyote fencing.  But best of all I love the interior space where I can display my odd collections while the sun shines on the brick floor in my office.  It makes me want to write for hours.

Front portal with my pew from the San Antonio Catholic Church in Logan, NM

Front portal with my pew from the San Antonio Catholic Church in Logan, NM

And when I’m done with the blogging and copywriting and editorializing?  I’m four blocks from the Cowgirl BBQ and the Railyard District and Second Street Brewery.  About seven blocks to the Plaza and Del Charo.  Because, no matter how creative your job requires you to be, a girl’s always gonna need a break for a margarita and some green chile enchiladas at some point.

Published in: on May 1, 2013 at 8:31 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pickupsticksjewelry.wordpress.com/2013/05/01/the-inspiring-spaces-of-pick-up-sticks-bunnys-house/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

